Can You Write/Draw? Make a Children’s Book Bitte.

A dear friend of mine I have known for almost two decades by the name of Aurora Lightbringer has become a wonderful educator and has started to attempt to fill the huge void that exists regarding pagan children’s books.  Further, if you have children, she also wrote a wonderful article HERE on how to navigate the public school system with the most respect the belief system/s in which you raise your children.

Aurora’s website (including her books), may be found HERE.

Although I am Heathen by nature any book by anyone of any pagan practice is one we did not have before!  One of the questions I am asked most often is “Where can I find good books for my children?”

The problem is: I don’t have children…  I don’t get to peruse the book aisles and see what is/is not available.  If you are reading this and you have further links to excellent children’s books for pagans and heathen kids, please share them in the comments and I will do my best to create a comprehensive list.

In the meantime…   the fact that this is even a Question indicates that we have a void that desperately needs filling by talented authors and artists who have the time and inclination to make improvements to our communities where they count- in the education of the next and future generations in caring in partnership with nature (as opposed to the monotheistic view of “ruling” her), integrity, industriousness, creativity, and encouraging a love of learning, appreciation of our folklores, as well as encouraging critical thinking.

Since I do not have children, I have NO IDEA how to write for them.   Parents time and again keep referring back to Harry Potter as if it is a resource; and although those books are enjoyable- they aren’t realistically pagan in way that can be experienced day to day.

The best I can come up with on my own is an idea of a story about a lonely little boy living in the middle of nowhere ignored by his parents as they go off to work and a gentle, brown dairy cow deciding she is his fylgia on the first day of Summer…which ultimately results in him growing up to be a happy farmer  who has the absolute best ice cream and cheeses as his siblings grow up to be “conventionally successful” in the big cities: stressed, divorced, ill, and suicidal.

I lack the subtlety to write for kids… but you might have that special touch I lack.

If you write it, I will share it.  I will add it to the list.  I want to make a list, but I need your help to do so.  Please share your favorite authors/books, and I implore you to please write your own and create a legacy that counts!

cow

Because my story ideas are so lame anyone can come up with better than this. (Picture via Pinterest)

5 Responses to “Can You Write/Draw? Make a Children’s Book Bitte.”

  1. A few books that I liked for my daughter were Wild Child by Lynn Plourde, I Wonder by Annaka Harris, and Older Than The Stars by Karen C. Fox. However, none of these were written specifically for pagan children and the last one is more scientific. Wild Child probably comes closest to being considered “pagan friendly”, as it personifies Autumn as a child who Mother Earth is trying to put to bed.
    I think that your story idea sounds great! Although, I also think that some of the more “adult” aspects that make the conventionally successful adults sad could be changed to something more typically child-friendly… Perhaps showing that they miss life out in the country? I would certainly be interested in such a book if somebody were to write it!

    • Thank you for the recommendations!

      …I don’t think there is anything I could write that would make a brown cow interesting to children. Of all the Heathen flavors out there, falling under the classifications of Urglaawe and Dievturiba are mostly about farming. I think as adults we tend to idealize the farm life- but to children? Cows are weird, smelly, and perhaps a bit weird. 😛 I would have to make it a GLITTERY cow, perhaps.

      • Yes, perhaps a glittery cow would be of more interest. But, kids do often tend to be interested in some things that would surprise us. On a related note, a child who grew up in the city might not appreciate the farming aspect in the same way one who is growing up around it might.

  2. I’m sorry, I forgot to mention one that I’ve heard is child-friendly: Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman. It’s on my wishlist, but I haven’t bought it yet so I can’t tell you what I personally think of it.

    • I am wary of Neil Gaiman, my husband read the book and said it isn’t bad…and he also wrote another illustrated book on Norse tales, but as I age I am ever increasingly less impressed by “American Gods” and all associated books- but that is simply my personal opinion.

      I hope future works by authors/artists within our religious communities can outshine Gaiman’s popularity and success with the younger set!

Leave a Reply

