Modifying the “Serenity Prayer” for public HEATHEN context

In the funeral industry, there is a common Christian prayer that has been modified to suit pretty much every other faith but ours… it begins with:

“God, give me grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.”

After reading the full version, I have created a rough one for Heathenry.  Feel free to make suggestions, modify, or use it as you may.  Since it is so common, this may be useful and familiar and easier to use for funerals of mixed faith…or even as a guide for some who have transitioned from Christianity into this path to understand the differences in our perspectives between the wisdom of the Aes as compared to Christian philosophy.

Here my Odinist/Asatru/Heathen modification (written VERY quickly):

Gods, help me develop the wisdom* to accept with serenity/understanding (your choice)
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change all things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.
Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as inevitable
Taking solace, as Odin did in that:
The strands of fate as already written
woven by the Norns
and by the deeds of others
Not as I would have it,
but designed by forces unknown to me.
Trusting that all things,
have their ending
and new things begin
If I stand proud,
and do not bow my head in surrender
That I may live an honorable life
And my legacy of word of my good deeds
will live long beyond the time I pass from Midgard

Hailsa

The original prayer was written by American theologian Reinhold Niebuhr….and goes:
God, give me grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.
Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as a pathway to peace,
Taking, as Jesus did,
This sinful world as it is,
Not as I would have it,
Trusting that You will make all things right,
If I surrender to Your will,
So that I may be reasonably happy in this life,
And supremely happy with You forever in the next.
Amen.

Seeing as other faiths made their own versions, ours was long overdue.

Hopefully, it can serve some use to even one of you  in either context.

Cemetary

Zion’s Lutheran Cemetery in Berks County, PA

 

*Edit added via suggestion written by “Tyrsman”.

2 Responses to “Modifying the “Serenity Prayer” for public HEATHEN context”

  1. I like this very much.

    • Tyrienne Says:

      I am really honored people like it! I wrote it on the spot and only edited it twice (so far) after I saw the Secular Humanist version… 🙂

Leave a Reply

