Loki, The Protector of Children.

Loki familyWhen I was growing up, I had several advantages and disadvantages to equal measure; I had supportive grandparents, 2 grandmothers and my grandfather- and my father was and is still a kind, ingenious, and confusing  Lokean sort of man who gave my life some semblance of normalcy during the middle of my elementary school years when he was a stay at home father and my mother went off to work (Thankfully).

The disadvantages:  My mother was PROFOUNDLY abusive- and laws at the time (1980’s) favored the mother in cases of divorce, so my father stayed with the crazy bitch knowing if he left, things could only get worse for me.  I’ll give him credit- he hung in there, developed what I can only describe as Stockholm Syndrome, and despite being an attractive and intelligent man- became emotionally attached to my mother over the years despite her endless array of negative qualities of severe mental illness, uncleanliness, and anger issues. (Not to mention the fact my existence was the direct result of my father being drugged and basically raped)

This, of course, has tinted the lenses with which I see the world profoundly.  I understand that if not for my mother, I would not feel so negatively towards women-  female Goddesses, with a few exceptions, are not usually who I am drawn to since I have no concept of a “loving mother” figure unless I need help understanding or comforting my husband whose patrons are almost entirely female.

However, it has occurred to me throughout of the course of my research on Loki- that he is frequently referenced in Kennings as the “protector children” or more specifically “The protector of lost children”…

A friend of mine has just undergone a divorce and his ex-wife is not fit for parenting.  I was friends with them both as a couple, and knowing they were splitting up- I made certain to spend time with each of them to see how they handled their children.  Being friends with both sides of a divorced couple seldom works well; the best that can occur if you want to “have it all” is being the scratching post between the two parties to vent their grievances about the other.  So, I watched- and discovered, that like my father, the male was the far more competent parent- who put his children first, who provided structure, support, and non-violent discipline when applicable.  The mother was simply overwhelmed with her haunted past and overwhelmed with her present situation- confused, flustered, and at a loss-and when offered suggestions on how to get on the path to correct what plagued her, dismissed all options and resources presented.  Her priority was SHE wanted to be loved- not to be a parent.

Over the years, I have been the advice giver/scratching post to many people- but through the help of both of my patron Gods, I have learned when it’s time to walk away.  Leading a horse to water to drink won’t work unless you are somehow able to push that fucker in- then it would likely drown anyway.

Most people come to me for “spiritual” advice….  to their disappointment, much of the advice I offer to many people involves such things as “Therapy”, “Lawyers”, and even “Medical treatment”.

Bad priestess=no cookie for me.

So, anyway, as most divorces tend to go- this one is getting nasty- and the children are in the middle.   They know who they want to live with, and I have seen it with my own eyes.  The wife is still in love with her ex, and is doing her part to make him jealous with a new beau.  However, I have also learned:  Love is reciprocal, and to love and not have love in return is a black hole, a sign of weakness, as well as a delusion:  If you love someone who does not share those feelings in return, then that person is NOT who your imagination is playing them to be- for no one would truly in their souls wish to be unloved.

I know this because I have thought I loved people who did not love me in return…. only to discover that my idea of them was incorrect.
and I have ALSO loved people who HAVE loved me in return- only to admit it years later….after I have moved on.

The problem here is not love or not love- the problem here is priorities.  It does not matter who does or does not love whom as long as children are in the picture as far as Loki (or I) am concerned.  The problem is this:  Are the children your first priority?

If the answer is “No”- then you are violating one of the most universal sacred laws, and despite Loki being seen as lawbreaker himself- there is a difference between the laws created by men and Gods, verses the laws created by Nature itself/Herself.

Loki may laugh in the face of mortal or immortal law alike- but there are universal constants:  The love for one’s offspring overrules all other priorities.  Hell, even in captivity, some rodents will actually kill their own young to save them from living the same life of captivity as they have- but have no mechanism for suicide themselves.   Killdeer birds will play wounded to lead predators away from the nest.  And one knows never to get between Mamma bear and her Cubs.

Another thing people often forget:  Loki, Himself, is a Mother.   He has carried a child to term, nursed it, raised it, and then gave it the best life he could to have his son serve as a noble companion to Woten Himself.

There are many men who have mothering energy to them, and oftentimes in this society these men are often unsung at best, or victims of a sexist political system at worst.   There are men who make better mothers than most women in this society, who with encouraging words, sternness, and love can raise well adjusted, well behaved children without any female to help them.

I also judge a parent by the behavior of the child-  I know a newborn with two doting parents who I have only seen cry once- and that was in the immediate presence of a woman with energy so toxic even I could sense it.   All children are born synthetes- and when faced with colors/smells/sounds that mesh together into a miasma of unhappiness, even the youngest of children can sense the unwell and potentially dangerous.

…and even the most innocuous person on the outside could be a danger to a child if they lack complete self awareness as well as a lack of the priority we all should possess to put the safety of the young of our species above the welfare of ourselves.

I am not a mother, I never can be- but I can say I have been on the phone with 911 multiple times when I have witnessed abuse.  I have visited police stations with evidence of child neglect, and I know my responsibility as a Lokean and a clergy person is to keep a “pulse” on the children in my direct field of view: lend support and encouragement to the excellent parents I know as friends, warnings to those who are not, and at worst, I am also responsible for reporting abuses as I see them with evidence as needed.

Which is where the Lokean and Tyrian in me overlap.  There are ALSO situations where I know that there are situations I cannot involve myself with- that any intervention on my part would be futile, and in those cases I am given ample warning to disengage with a closing prayer that those with more resources and competence than I possess will protect those I cannot- and that the Gods watch all children regardless.

5 years ago- I would not have had that wisdom-  I am as aggressive and annoying like a wolf with a deer leg regarding the mistreatment of kids- and in the past I have stayed in people’s lives simply for the sake of keeping an eye on their kids rather than for their friendship-but in that process, I have also learned to walk away as soon as I knew the danger has passed- without anyone being the wiser to why I was there in the first place.

In my past, I have “checked in” on the children of childhood friends- stayed around for a few months, and moved on content they were healthy, happy, and being educated… even if the situation was not “nuclear” by any means.

My childhood, overall, was horrific- to the extant of the book “A child called It”.  My mother believed I was a changeling- but then again, she also used to “hide” oreo cookies in the oven and ask serious advice of houseplants.  HOWEVER- I was also given multiple resources with which I could raise myself-  I had role models in other family members, teachers, and neighbors- and I was given the gift of being able to keep my synaestesia into my adulthood which has enriches my perception where my normal senses fail me.  When one can “see” sounds and emotions as repellent or attractive-  my husband is not the best talker sometimes, so sometimes, non-verbal communication works better than any words.

I was never truly, completely without resources…and my dad being Lokean, admitted or not- helped a great deal.  Even when he realized he could no longer protect me when I reached a certain age, he knew I had the resources on my own to survive without his involvement, despite the fact that I resented his further lack of intervention for years.

I can understand a little bit further what my newborn friend saw when she started crying hysterically when the sick woman entered the room….and I also learned, for the first time ever, that I can actually use something like Reiki to communicate with a human so small to show her that I could “see” what she could- and it would be okay because Mommy and Daddy were taking her home where it was safe and those overwhelming “other person feelings” would not be there anymore.

But think of Loki- the only one of the Gods who has been both Father and Mother.  The one who knows what it feels like to be rejected, outcast, and neglected.  Remember sweet Sigyn, and her unconditional love for her children and their father…. who even in the death of both her sons, still kept them close to her. (in a morbid sort of way- but it speaks volumes).

So, when my friend came to me for help- he asked for Tyr, but instead, I directed him to Loki.  Tyr comes into play when the courts are involved- but when the well-being of a child is at stake, the best to call on is Loki himself- He who understands both the needs of the child as well as the parent willing to give up anything and everything for their offspring…  (However, the next time we talk- I will also suggest a good lawyer for good measure!)

…as for the parent who does not heed Nature’s law- Loki will intervene, and it will not be pretty.  However, I also know His intervention is often misconstrued- as the failed parent finds themselves in a descending vortex of failure and misery.  The children often get blamed- but the children ALSO get support, and sometimes, even an “imaginary” fire-haired friend to talk to until the dust settles and things are okay in the end. 🙂

As for Tyr- he was rejected by BOTH of his parents for his continued association with the Aesir rather than the Jotuns- but that is a story for another time….

5 Responses to “Loki, The Protector of Children.”

  1. Thank you for posting this. All of your posts are so eloquent, and able to identify things I couldn’t exactly name. I enjoy learning new things about Tyr as well, I hadn’t known that much about him before I found your blog.

    Hail Loki, our guardian and ally.

    • Hail Loki Guardian of Children! I will find a way to write about Tyr- but not during Loki month…. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Life with Loki and commented:
    I agree with so much in this article that I decided to reblog it.

  3. I found this very inspiring to read, and I love seeing how He’s touched other devotees—there are so many different ways that He does, isn’t that wonderful?

    I don’t remember reading “protector of lost children”, could you please point me to the source? thanks in advance!

    • I read so much, that independent sources all run together in my mind- combined with a terrible short term memory. However, most recently I have been reading Raven Kaldera’s book on Jotuns- I may have found it there, I will check for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

